District Information

District Profile

Setting and Land Use
Allen County is located in the northwestern portion of Ohio, within the eastern confines of the mid-western corn belt. It is in the central lowlands and straddles the till plain and lake plain areas of west central Ohio. U.S. Route 30, and State Routes 81, 117, and 309 cross the county east and west, and Interstate Highway 75 and State Route 65, 115 and 696 run north and south. The Ottawa and Auglaize Rivers flow through Allen County.

The county has a total land area of about 403 square miles or about 260,500 acres. The 2020 population of the county was 102,206. The county seat of Lima is located near the center of the county and is the largest town. Smaller towns include Delphos, Bluffton, Spencerville, Elida, Beaverdam, Cairo, Lafayette and Harrod.  According to the 2017 census of agriculture reports, there are 855 farms in Allen County. 186,623 acres of land was in farms and the average farm size was 218 acres.

District Organization
The Allen Soil & Water Conservation District (hereinafter to be called District) was organized in 1945 by concerned landowners interested in protecting and improving the county’s soil and water resources. The District consists of all the lands within Allen County including incorporated and unincorporated villages and cities.

The District is administered by a governing body of five supervisors duly elected for a three-year term by the owners and occupiers of land within Allen County. The Board establishes policy and it also guides the work of the District, utilizes funds for equipment and hires personnel to carry out the work of the District.

A Soil and Water Conservation District is responsible for developing a comprehensive plan for conserving and protecting soil and water resources within the county. Developing a plan involves defining existing problems, finding appropriate solutions, and coordinating activities to solve problems.

Contact Us

Contact Us